Istanbul Technical University

Department of chemistry, Istanbul Technical University, is founded in 1982 and one of the leading chemistry departments in Turkey. The objective of the undergraduate program is to train the students in best way both for academic and industry. A person who wants to enroll chemistry department, has to interest in basic sciences and as well as scientific research. In first year of the undergraduate program, the students are given courses on basic sciences such as physics, mathematics, etc. Analytical, organic, physical and inorganic chemistry courses are taught in the following years. Undergraduate students are offered a double major study in the following departments (General point average (GPA) and quota restrictions apply): Mathematical engineering department, molecular biology and genetics department, environmental engineering, chemical engineering department, food engineering department. The objective of graduate programs is to create a suitable environment for students who will afford original contributions to research facilities in chemistry. Two graduate programs: Chemistry and Polymer Science and Technology (in English) programs are offered.

Prof. Yusuf Yagci -Professor Yagci’s research interests involve photoinitiated cationic and radical polymerization, polymer modification, controlled polymerization methods and their transformations, block and graft copolymers, nanocomposites, click chemistry, and benzoxazine-based thermosets. He has published about 700 original research papers in different peer-reviewed international journals. He has also co-authored and co-edited five books and has been invited to write over 40 chapters in different books. Professor Yagci has supervised about
85 PhD and M.Sc. students. He serves as a member of the editorial board of many international journals. He is the recipient of several awards including the Turkish Scientific and Technological Research Council (Tubitak) Young Investigator Award (1989), Tubitak Science Award (1994), Turkish Chemical Society Honorary Member Award (2002), Elsevier Scopus Award (2007), The Society of Polymer Science, Japan (SPSJ) International Award (2008), and the Elginkan Foundation Technology Award (2008), COMSTEC Award (2011). He acts as the
Associate Member of IUPAC Polymer Division. He was a member of the Turkish Academy of Sciences (1997-2011). He organized several international meetings in Turkey and abroad, and presented many plenary and invited lectures in international conferences.